Banyana Banyana head coach bags coach of the year award.

South Africa national women’s football team tactician Desiree Ellis clinched the 2020 Momentum Gsport coach of the year award at a colourful ceremony on Monday evening.

The 57-year-old tactician pipped South Africa’s women U19 cricket coach Dinesha Devnarain and Spar proteas’ Dorette Badenhorst to the award.

Ellis had an impressive run with Banyana Banyana since the 2018 African Women’s Cup of Nation’s (AWCON) in Ghana where they lost to Nigeria in the final.

She also guided South Africa to their maiden 2019 FIFA Women’s world cup in France where they failed to make it past the group stage.

Speaking during the award ceremony, Ellis who won the award for the first time in three attempts dedicated the award to all the South African coaches.

“Actually, it is my third time I’m nominated, the first time I get into the top three and I win it. I think it shows that if the team does well, the individuals get rewarded and I’m just pleased that I am one of those individuals. You know, those Sasol coaches and our national leagues, this is all for those coaches as well for their contributions,” she said.

World Surfski champion Hayley Nixon bagged the prestigious momentum athlete of the year award while gymnast Caitlin Rooskrantz scoped the emerging athlete of the year award.

South Africa’s national netball team SPAR Proteas were crowned the team of the year with their sponsors SPAR clinching the sponsor of the year award.

Naa Bardina
Follow Me
Latest posts by Naa Bardina (see all)