Tokyo 2020: D’Tigress Coach Otis invites 14 players for Olympics Qualifiers.

D’tigress head coach, Otis Hughley has called up 14 players for the last phase of the 2020 Olympics Qualification Tournament billed for Belgrade between of 6th to 9th of February, 2020.

Top on the list is Virtus Eirene of Italy small forward, Ifunanya Ibekwe, Promise Amukamara (Charnay Basket Bourgogne SUD, Frace), Sarah Imovbioh (Basket Namur Capitale, Belgium) and Spain based Elo Edeferioka who plies her trade with CB Vigo.

Upe Atosu currently studying and playing for Butler University in the United States of America is also making a return.

Pallas Kunaiyi Akpannah may be on course to continue building her fledging national team career after debuting for Nigeria at the pre-qualifiers in Maputo, Mozambique in November while usual suspects Ezinne Kalu, Evelyn Akhator, Aisha Balarabe and team captain, Adaora Elonu have all been included in the squad.

Louisville University guard, Elizabeth Balogun who was not released by her school for the pre-OQT have also been included in the list alongside Nigeria based Musa Murjanantu who emerged as the Zenith Bank Women Basketball League Most Valuable Player after guiding Air Warriors of Abuja to their first ever league title.

Notable absence remains Sarah Ogoke who recently scored 22 points and picked 7 rebounds to guide Ferroviario de Maputo of Mozambique to another FIBA Africa Women’s Champions Cup victory after a win over Inter Clube of Angola.

Nigeria is grouped alongside host- Serbia, World Champions- USA and Mozambique with two Olympics tickets on offer.

Full list of players
Ifunanya Ibekwe (Virtus Eirene, Italy)

Promise Amukamara (Charnay Basket Bourgogne SUD, France)

Sarah Imovbioh (Basket Namur Capitale, Belgium)

Elo Edeferioka (CB Vigo Spain)

Upe Atosu (Butler University, USA)

Pallas Kunaiyi Akpannah (Meccanica Nova, Italy)

Ezinne Kalu (Landerneau Bretagne Basket, France)

Evelyn Akhator (Flammes Carolo, France)

Aisha Balarabe (KB Bashkimi, Kosovo)

Adaora Elonu (Uni Girona, Spain)

Elizabeth Balogun (Louisville University, USA)

Musa Murjanantu (Air Warriors, Nigeria)

By: Hanifat Mustapha

Naa Bardina
Follow Me
Latest posts by Naa Bardina (see all)