UWCL: Faustina Ampah’s FC Minsk Drawn In Group 4 As 2019-20 UWCL Tips Off Tomorrow From The Group Stage Level

The preliminary qualifying round of the Uefa women’s Champions League has been slated for August 7 to 13, 2019 with Belarus Champions FC Minsk among 40 teams involved. Ghanaian defender, Faustina Ampah was part of last season’s team that got eliminated after placing second to Cyprus giant Barcelona FA in a group of four (4).

The Belarus most successful team will seek to redeem their image after a failing to make the round of 32 last season. Ampah who’s currently recovering from a knee injury will be hoping to make a third successive appearance in the UWCL since her debut appearance in the 2017-18 season.

Priscilla Okyere who scored 2 goals help Serbian side Subotica to the round of 32 stage last season has been shipped to Spanish side Rayo Vellacano leaving Ampah as the sole Ghanaian in the tournament.

Ernestina Abambila and Elizabeth Addo are other two Ghanaians to have tasted the flagship European club competition. Ampah’s Minsk left Belarus three days ago and are in Ukraine to participate in the seven (7) days tournament where one of them get to qualify to the round of 32 of the UWCL.

The Belorussian team will be playing against Kharkiv ( hosts) tomorrow August 7, in their first group (4) game before facing off with ŽNK Split from Croatia and Luxembourg’s Bettembourg FC Last season BIIK-Kazygurt beat FC Barcelona Feminina 3-1 in the last 32 first leg, being the only side to score against Barcelona before the final.

The Kazakhstan champions are among 40 teams starting their Uefa Women’s Champions League campaigns in the qualifying round on Wednesday A record 62 teams from 50 associations have entered the 2019/20 UEFA Women’s Champions League and 40 of them are involved in the qualifying round in August.

Qualifying round groups (7–13 August)

Group 1SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH, hosts), Breidablik (ISL), ASA Tel-Aviv University, ŽFK Dragon 2014 (MKD)

Group 2Universitatea Olimpia Cluj (ROU), NSA Sofia (BUL), Breznica Pljevlja (MNE, hosts), Mitrovica (KOS)

Group 3: Hibernian (SCO), Pomurje Beltinci (SVN, hosts), Cardiff Met (WAL), FC Nike (GEO)

Group 4FC Minsk (BLR)Kharkiv (UKR, hosts), ŽNK Split (CRO), Bettembourg (LUX)

Group 5ŽFK Spartak (SRB), Ferencváros (HUN), Slovan Bratislava (SVK, hosts), Agarista – SS Anenii Noi (MDA)

Group 6: BIIK-Kazygurt (KAZ), PK-35 Vantaa (FIN), Flora Tallinn (EST, hosts), EBS/Skála (FRO)

Group 7: Apollon LFC (CYP), Sturm Graz (AUT), Braga (POR), Rīgas Futbola skola (LVA, hosts)

Group 8: LSK Kvinner (NOR), PAOK (GRE), Anderlecht (BEL, hosts), Linfield (NIR)

Group 9FC Twente (NED, hosts), Górnik Łęczna (POL), Beşiktaş (TUR), Alashkert (ARM)

Group 10Gintra Universitetas (LTU, hosts), Vllaznia (ALB), Wexford Youths (IRL), Birkirkara (MLT)

Naa Bardina
Follow Me